Vegetarian Challenge: Asian Noodle Salad

October 22, 2013

______________________________________________

One week in! This is a lot easier then I thought, even though it is only a week in and I haven’t even approached obstacles like American Thanksgiving or other family gatherings, but I am enjoying making healthier choices. The first highlighted recipe for me to share with you is an Asian Noodle Salad with Peanuts and Mint, a recipe I found on Martha Stewart‘s homepage.

The meal was fairly simple to prepare. It mostly involved cooking the noodles, whisking the sauce, and chopping vegetables. Further instructions can be found on Martha’s website.

I was a wee-bit skeptical to the use of lime juice, and soy sauce in the sauce mixture, which I actually found to bring the whole recipe together. There is just enough in there where you can barely taste it, but it gives the whole meal flavor, and who can argue with that?

One challenge I myself, have to overcome in this challenge is to become more open-minded in what ingredients are added into a meal. I was also skeptical of the mint leaves and scallions just from the blatant sense that I don’t eat them often, but all of these ingredients were necessary to give it the flavor it needed.

______________________________________________

One week in, and I am pretty sure I can carry out for the next month. Even if I only do this for a month, it is broadening my horizons in terms to healthier foods I am willing to try, and eat. Now time to search for a new recipe for this week, and to chow down on some salad. Before I close, I’d like to thank Martha Stewart for this recipe, and Bubby&Bean for sharing this recipe, along with other vegetarian recipes on her site! I recommend checking it out! Have a good one! xxoo

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Challenge: Asian Noodle Salad

  1. Good for you making it a week in! You can definitely make it a full month – maybe longer 😉 I have quite a few recipes on my blog if you need some inspiration.

Leave a Reply

