Chicago Spring 2013 RECAP!

April 5th, 2013

Wow, what a great week it has been for me! This past week I spent a couple of days in Chi-Town with the family and I, and I had a blast shopping for Summer, and spending some time in this wonderful city. I am currently on Spring Break, and since we weren’t planning on anything too special considering we have a wedding to fund in the upcoming months, we still decided to splurge on the windy city and we definitely don’t regret it.

From just cruising down the highway towards the city and the sight of the skyline just made me more eager to step out of Suburbia life and jump right into city life. We got a nice view of the streets as we made our way downtown, and I haven’t been in Chicago since the few years past but I became familiar again quite quickly.

Our first stop was at Whole Foods, an organic food store, I know many West-Michiganders are envious of it’s existence elsewhere. Previously to this visit, I had never been to one and boy I was missing out. Amused by all of the food you could by, my mission was to find Guayaki Yerba Mate, a drink I have known about and have always been curious to taste. Overall this store was just pleasant.

After a little bit of shopping for treats, we checked in at the Fairfield Inn & Sweets, which I instantly loved when walking into a contemporary decorated lobby, which followed to the rooms. While our beds were a little small, it was definitely worth it considering how close we were to the Magnificent Mile.

After settling in, we made our way up Michigan Ave, window shopping and making reminders to go back and shop at the specific stores we saw. We were not in the mood to stop due to our hunger, which after the 3 hour drive was needed. We stopped at Ginos East for a slice of true Chicago Style pizza. While the food was amazing, the fact you could write on practically anything, made this restaurant even more fun!

One of my favorite stops on our short trip to the city was at Millennium Park, where we got to experience the “Cloud Gate” or many just know it as “The Bean.” This giant curved mirror basically is going to automatically propel you to take multiple pictures of yourself from every angle of the bean. I literally spent probably five minutes just staring at the curved skyline reflected off the bean. Definitely recommend you stop by even just to snap one shot on your way down there.

Overall, I had an amazing time in this city, and I am really going to try to get down there more often considering it really isn’t that long of a drive from GR. I could go on longer for how amazing these short couple days were in the city, but I decided to categorize posts “Chicago-Related” under “Best Of Chicago” so if you want to read those related posts you can find them at the right column (:

Anyways, I hope you all have enjoyed your spring break if you have had one, and I hope you all enjoy your weekends. Let me know if there is any city you have a crush on, or some place you can go repeatedly and never get sick of. 🙂

Leave a Reply

